“Rick and Bubba’s Guide to the Almost Nearly Perfect Marriage” Book Review

 

I picked this book out as I thought it would be a fun book and I needed some laughs. I got them!! While I’ve never heard Rick or Bubba on the radio as I don’t live in that area, they have warmed my heart. There’s one chapter in this book that had me laughing so hard I actually woke up my husband who was sleeping soundly beside me.

Now, having said that, I’m a therapist and would be remiss not to mention that this is NOT a book for marriage counseling. It is not that in-depth, but I don’t think it was intended for that purpose. Don’t get me wrong, it has some good advice and may help some couples, but hard-core marital issues will probably not be resolved by reading this book.

Rick and Bubba seem to have a lot of fun writing the book. Since it is written by 2 guys with a few inserts from their wives, it is predominately focused on the guy’s perspective. Most of it is light-hearted and fun, but one chapter in particular deals with the death of Rick’s youngest son when he was 2 1/2 yrs old. Heartbreaking. Yet it shows how they struggled together as a couple to come through that seemingly unbearable experience and their marriage is stronger than ever.

Full disclosure: I got this book complimentary from the Book Sneeze program through Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review or in any other way compensated.

Leave a Reply

