Savings at Gymboree

Ok, I LOVE buying clothes for Mister!! And, I LOVE Gymboree quality, but their prices make me cringe. I want to share with you how to get some serious deals there. Right now, they offer Gymbucks. I’ll admit, I’ve never used them before, but read on a different site that they can make my dollars stretch further, so thought I’d give it a try. Besides, I haven’t purchased Mister clothes lately and he needs a new spiffin’ Easter outfit.

I got all of this…

img_13991

for $105.92!! And, I have $50 Gymbucks to use (when I spend another $100, I’ll get $50 off)! No, it’s not free, but it’s an amazing deal to me for that many high-quality, cute, non-frumpy clothes.

Let’s do some math…If I had paid regular price for all of it, it would have been $219.74. OUCH! Just so you know, that would not have happened! Most of it was on sale. If I had just bought it on sale, it would have been $149.88. Still, that price makes me edgy. I had a 20% off total purchase coupon in addition to the sale prices and woola! (According to my math, there’s a $10 discrepency there that the cashier and I tried for 20 minutes to figure out to no avail.) Now, I’ll admit, the total was a bit lower than that originally, but knowing that if I added just a couple more items, I’d get $50 Gymbucks rather than $25 off $50 purchase, it was a much better deal for me to add a little to get over the $100 mark to get the $50 Gymbucks instead. So, I paid full price for 2 items to get there. (That’ll teach me to not have my calculator along!!) I don’t consider $105 for 14 items all that shabby though.

When he’s outgrown them, I may try to sell them on Ebay or Craigslist. I’ve never tried this adventure, but I’ve heard that Gymboree clothes sell really well. If you notice, I get outfits that coordinate on purpose. First, I like a put-together look. Also, I’ve heard that it sells better, so why not?! I’ll give it a whirl and keep you posted!!

Has anyone else tried Gymbucks or tried to sell their Gymboree items? How about other brands that sell well? Any tips? I’ve heard that Janie & Jack (another division of Gymboree) sells well also and I LOVE their clothes too!!

One thought on “Savings at Gymboree

  1. I have several friends who sell kids clothes on Ebay or Craigslist and usually make money over what they spent! One friend purposely scours at Goodwill for brand names, knowing what they will pay for those items at the consignment shop she sells at.

    I know people can dress their kids fashionably and then make good money, too, but I feel like I can barely keep up with keeping my kids clothed! And forget about resale after it’s been through 4 girls…. šŸ™‚ Not complaining too much, though, since I AM able to use most outfits for 4 girls!

Leave a Reply

