From the Heart

As our family is going through a tough time right now or maybe it’s because I’m turning 40 in a few days, I’m reminded that our lives have purpose and I wonder how many of us have found our purpose and are living that out. I believe that God had a plan for each of us and though sometimes we don’t follow His plan for us, I believe God is flexible and works with us no matter how much we mess up his plan.

I’ve found that I’ve been asking myself, “What legacy am I leaving to the people I care about?”. What will they say about me when I’m gone?” “Am I fulfilling the purpose for which God made me?” “Am I reaching the people that he intended?” “Am I giving the hope that I have?” “Do I get caught up in legalism, judgment and rules rather than love?” (Ouch, that’s a tough one for me!)

My goal in life is to love, regardless. The key word is “regardless.” Regardless of behavior, background, beliefs, differences, and any other thing. That does not mean I don’t have boundaries as sometimes the most loving thing a person can do for another is set up a boundary, but that’s another soapbox post at a different time. Sometimes loving means getting in the dirt with another person or putting up with some external behavior we don’t appreciate in order to get to the heart. After all, isn’t that what God does? Regardless,…

I strive to live life intentionally and with purpose, not playing “victim” or blaming other people for the events that happen. Yes, the reality is that a lot of unfortunate events happen in life. We can spend our time asking, “Why?” or blaming the person involved, but the truth is most of the time, those responses are a waste of time and energy. I wonder how often satan uses those responses to keep us stuck and ineffective in our lives. That is his goal. If we keep focusing on how other people have hurt us or done wrong, we’re not taking responsibility for our lives. To be effective, we need acknowledge the wrong done and forgive. Maybe a boundary also needs to be set so the situation doesn’t happen again, but then move forward.

I want to be involved with life, not just getting through life like a zombie in front of a tv or computer or whatever other mindless activity. I want to be active, grabbing opportunities and showing people love in every way that I can. Every act of mercy and every act of love makes this world a better place. It doesn’t matter if it isn’t acknowledged by anyone else or appreciated. God knows. He knows our hearts and our intentions whether or not they come to fruition.

One of my favorite songs is by Nicole Nordeman called “Legacy”. The chorus goes like this:

I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me?
Did I choose to love? Did I point to You enough
To make a mark on things?
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace who
blessed your name unapologetically
And leave that kind of legacy

What’s the legacy you want to leave?

Think about it.

2 thoughts on “From the Heart

  1. Hey Lana-

    I could not agree more. It is so easy to get caught up in the day to day and they you realize a month or a year or 10 years have gone by and where has it gotten you.

    Time is so fleeting (sometimes that is good- when times are hard). Just be open to the leading of God and he will take your hand.

    The hubby and I are on the waiting list to adopt a child or siblings from San Diego County- it seems to take forever (it’s been 10 months). We know this is where God wants us but he has us in a holding pattern- we know he has a plan- but waiting is tiring.

    This is the legacy we want to leave- helping a child who needs it- this is God’s (and ours) chosen path for our family.

    -jen

    • Hi Jen-

      Thanks for replying. I really didn’t know how this post would go over as I don’t typically share that much from my heart, but I’m glad you can relate.

      I love that your legacy is to help a child who needs it. What a blessing that will be to both the child and to you. In the meantime, I will be praying for you and your family and that the “holding pattern” goes quickly and smoothly. Keep me updated!

      Blessings,
      Lana

Leave a Reply

