Meet the Fam!

Thought I’d introduce myself and my family since some of you may not know us very well if at all.

I’m Lana. I’m a farm girl at heart, but on the outside, I’m pretty much a city girl at this point. I grew up on a farm in IA, but moved to the Mpls/St Paul area when I went to Bethel College (now University). I lived in the Twin Cities until I got my first master’s degree in counseling then moved back to IA for 3 yrs. I loved my job in IA, but found that as a young, single female there just weren’t a lot of things to do socially. I moved back to the TC area and have lived here ever since. I’ve received my second master’s degree in Clinical Pastoral Counseling, though currently I don’t use my education professionally as a few years ago I became really sick and have been out on disability since. When I’m not hanging with my family, you can usually find me shopping, quilting, reading, at a coffee shop with friends, or my personal favorite-eating M&M’s (I’m a total addict!).

a great couple

a great couple

First, meet the most wonderful husband a woman could marry! I’ve been married to Greg for the past 5 yrs and he is my best friend, soul mate, and love of my life. I am truly blessed to have him as a husband. He works as a Senior Software Engineer and is a fantastic dad and great provider. I feel like the luckiest woman alive being married to him!

Mister

Mister

Next is my son whose nickname is “Mister”. Since I’d prefer not to use his real name on Internet, I’ll refer to him by his nickname. He is the most amazing little guy in the world (of course I’m not biased or anything!). He is 20 months old and learning new things all the time. It is so fun to watch him grow and develop. I am so blessed to be his mother.

Lilly

Lilly

Then, there’s Lilly. She is one of our ‘people of fur’. She has been with me for 10 yrs. She is the most intuitive cat I have ever met. Getting her was truly a “God thing”. As I was praying one day I felt like I needed to go to the Humane Society and get a long-haired kitty. She was the only long-haired cat there at the time, so I got her even though she wasn’t the friendliest cat during the visitation part. I realized after I had her home for about a week that she was really sick. At the time I was too, so we recovered together. She and I formed a connection that most people can’t understand or fathom. She will let me know when my blood sugar is low, when something is amiss, when her ‘sisters of fur’ are in trouble, or when a door is left unlocked. It’s uncanny. You can read more about her in my guest blog here.

Patsy

Patsy

Patsy is our second kitty. I got her a year after Lilly. Originally, I thought she would be Lilly’s diet plan as Lilly was getting a little too fluffy. Well, that plan didn’t work as now both kitties are a little too fluffy! Patsy is known for her funny antics and humor. She’s the one that sleeps with us at night and purrs us to sleep. I got her from a rescue agency as she had her leg broken by a 5 yr old and had to have orthopedic surgery. She is fully recovered physically, but tends to be a bit skittish, especially around small children.

Smudge

Smudge

Then, there’s Smudge. She’s our only pure-bred as a Silver Persian. We acquired her through an adoption agency also as someone had adopted her for her daughter and the daughter didn’t want her. She definitely has the stereotypical characteristics of a Persian and talks very loudly all the time. I have actually held complete conversations with her! She is a beautiful cat and knows it as she primps in the bathroom mirror on a regular basis!

There you have it! Our family in a nutshell!! I’d love to hear from everyone visiting my blog.

5 thoughts on “Meet the Fam!

  1. Hi there! I came across your blog by way of Blissfully Simple… your writing is great and it looks like you have a wonderful family – including the furry ones, of course. I, myself, am a cat person but we have been without one for about 2 years and just when I was planning to start searching for my feline companion my husband decided we should get a dog for our youngest daughter who has been begging us for years… so we now have an 8 month old long-haired dachshund named Archie. I think he is part cat. He has stolen my heart and while I’m still pining for a kitty I guess he will do for now. ha ha.
    We used to have a Himalayan (female) and I can totally relate to your comments about Smudge. Bailey was my soulmate and I miss her greatly; so enjoy your kitties and treasure them. šŸ™‚

    • Thanks for writing!! I love dogs too, but can understand why you still pine for a kitty. Maybe you could have both??! šŸ™‚

  2. Hi Lana…
    Enjoyed reading this very much. Your little guy is absolutely adorable…as are his parents. And I, too, have had a love for cats, but HB is allergic to them. They are absolutely my favorite animal. My daughters same way. You may remember when you used to come here how many cats we had! Hugs my longtime friend…
    Jan

Leave a Reply

